Core Activity: Write a diary for your favorite character.

So much has happened since the last time I wrote but I have much to tell. I had arrived in the Imperial Court two days before and so much has happened since. My mistress is a lovely yet strict woman. I have become nice friends with Cheiko, one of the maids here. She is very kind and lovely woman. I am grateful that I met someone like her here. I have been missing my family a lot the past days. It saddens me how I wont’ even be there to see my little brother grow up. I wonder how my mother is doing? I hope she is all right. My stepfather is an amazing man and I’m sure he is taking great care of her. At least I hope so.

Yesterday I had gone to the emperor to perform for him. Since I had always gotten compliments on my voice the mistress though it would be a great idea to do that. I had sung a beautiful lullaby earning many compliments from the emperor and his mother. I couldn’t believe yesterday had actually happened. It was on honor in just being in the presence of the emperor. Later that day Cheiko and me had gone to the temple to pray because the mistress had ordered us to. There I met Hideo. I don’t know how to say this but I think I’m in love. The way he had softly spoken to me and held my hand. It was such a magical moment. I had after learned that Hideo was my mistress lover! I can’t believe I was so stupid to give my heart to someone who is already taken. The whole day I have been trying to ignore the feeling I felt toward this stranger. After all we had only talked one! How was it even possible that I feel in love with him?

Twenty-eight day of the month of November, in the year one thousand eight hundred and sixty-five.

~Mahnoor

Leave a comment